October 20, 2019

For Fernando Alonso, a Career of Victories

For Fernando Alonso, a Career of Victories

2003 Now racing for Renault, Alonso began making inroads. He scored his first pole, points and podium finish at the Malaysian Grand Prix, the second race of the season. He placed third. Alonso had his first win at the Hungarian Grand Prix and finished the year with 55 points. He would go on to 31 more wins in his Formula One career.

2005 He became the youngest person, at 24, to win a drivers’ title when he finished with 133 points, 21 more than Kimi Raikkonen of McLaren. Alonso would win seven times this year, more than a third of the races held. Renault won the constructors’ title.

2006 He won his second Formula One drivers’ championship, becoming the youngest driver to take consecutive titles, and Renault also took the constructors’ title. He again won seven races and beat Schumacher by 13 points, denying him his eighth drivers’ title. It was Alonso’s last title.

2007 But he came close. Now racing for McLaren, Alonso missed his third-consecutive title by one point in a very competitive year. He and his teammate, Lewis Hamilton, finished second to Raikkonen.

2010 Alonso, racing for Ferrari, would finish second three times, losing to Vettel of Red Bull by four points this year, by three points in 2012 and by a wide margin in 2013.

2015 Vettel replaced Alonso at Ferrari. Alonso moved back to McLaren.

2017 He languished there, so it was little surprise that he and the team announced he was skipping the Monaco Grand Prix to enter the Indianapolis 500 in an attempt to win a leg of motorsport’s triple crown. He drove a McLaren for Andretti Autosport and finished 24th after having engine problems. Andretti Autosport would win the race in another car, but with Takuma Sato behind the wheel.

2018 He and his team of Toyota drivers won the 24 Hours of Le Mans, one of the races in the triple crown. He just needed a win at Indy to match Graham Hill, the only driver to achieve the crown. Alonso made an attempt, but failed to qualify. During the Formula One season, he announced his retirement from the series after a 17-year career.

2019 Alonso and his team of drivers won the 24 Hours of Daytona on his second attempt.

Source link

About The Author

Related posts